jump to navigation

Catching Up September 29, 2009

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Well, it’s been a while again since I last posted.  I’ve been busy making some cards again, both for swaps and for RAKs.  Back on September 15, 2009, Debb and I went to a card-making event for our servicemen and women in Battle Creek.  It was co-hosted by Jane from the CricutLovers board.  We had a lot of fun, especially since neither of us has been able to make our regular scrapping/cardmaking nights with our friends.  It was at a restaurant called Captain Luey’s.  They have the best breading for their chicken, fish and onion rings there!  Definitely a place to stop back next time I’ve got the time…

Since Debb and I had some time to kill, we thought we’d do a little shopping in Battle Creek.  Little did we know, there really IS no shopping to be done there!  We found a little independent stamp and yarn store in town, but that’s about it.  So we both made some purchases…   I got Burgundy Stickles and Spiced Marmalade Distress Stickles there as well as two stamps.  One is of corn (I think I’ll be using it as Indian corn mostly), and the other is a House Mouse stamp called Sweet Find.  It’s of two mice dressed up as candy corn, carrying a treat bag.  The local stores near me don’t seem to carry many of the House Mouse stamps, so it was a nice find.

Stamps from Battle Creek store

Stamps from Battle Creek store

I haven’t done anything with the House Mouse stamp yet, but I did do a card with the corn stamp.

New Corn stamp

New Corn stamp

I like the way this card turned out.  I colored it in with my Neopiko-2’s, and I used the Burgundy and Orange Marmalade Stickles for the glitter.  The paper is from my stash.  So far, I’ve left it blank inside.  I’m not sure if I want to turn it into a Thanksgiving card or not.

My Uncle Joe also celebrated a milestone birthday – he turned 50 this year!  I can’t believe it!  His wife, Kathylyn, threw him a birthday party for his brothers and sisters-in-law to celebrate.  So I wasn’t technically invited, but I didn’t want him to think I’d forgotten about him.  I made him a birthday card.

This is Uncle Joe's 50th Birthday Card

This is Uncle Joe's 50th Birthday Card

For this card, I used paper from my stash, and my hand-dyed Decorative Accents.  The glue wasn’t quite dry on them, as you can probably see… but it dried clear and looked much better later in the day!  I don’t recall where the birthday stamps came from – I think I got them in a cheap set on clearance at Michaels… and the “50” is from the Big Numbers set by Hampton Art.  No Stickles on this card, but I did add some glitz to the confetti stamp with my black Marvy Uchida glitter marker.

I just purchased the Cricut Wild Card cartridge, and I made my first card with it.  It has a ton of super cute cards and matching envelopes on it.  Unfortunately, they seem to work best on the Expression only.  It’s not a huge deal since I have both the E and the baby bug, but the E is much harder to deal with using because I’ve got such restricted space.  I really like the idea of being able to create matching envelopes for the cards though…. Hopefully I’ll be able to use it often to make things! 

My first "Wild Card" Card

My first "Wild Card" Card

This is the back of the envelope I created, showing the flap

This is the back of the envelope I created, showing the flap

This is a picture of the liner that I cut out with Wild Card

This is a picture of the liner that I cut out with Wild Card

This is the outside of the envelope I cut from Wild Card

This is the outside of the envelope I cut from Wild Card

Yes, I am proud of this card.  I’m surprised it came out fairly well.  I had some issues getting the Expression to cut the cardstock and paper well, but it seems like I’ve always had that problem – and will continue to have the issue, too!  In general, I guess I’ve come up with the conclusion that I have to cut everything on maximum pressure and just mess around with the blade depth.  Oh well!  I still really like this cartridge, and I’m glad I purchased it.  I LOVE the envelope though — and the liner, too!  The only issue I had with cutting the envelope out was the star cut-outs on the flap.  Because I was screwing around with the settings, it didn’t cut them out completely.  Instead of possibly ruining the envelope trying to get them out, I just used my Fiskars small star punch and punched out some stars.  This card is for a friend of mine, but it’s a surprise, so I’ll not say anything just in case she stops by my blog…

I just read the other day about some family issues that a fellow member of the Copic Cabana group is having, so I made a card for her. 

This was made using the Happy Hoppers stamp called Wishin' Well

This was made using the Happy Hoppers stamp called Wishin' Well

Isn’t this stamp cute?!  It is a House Mouse series stamp, but the bunnies are called Happy Hoppers, and apparently they even have names (Itty Bit, Bumble, and Hop-It).  The stamp itself is called Wishin’ Well.  The paper is from my stash, as are the felt corners.  I colored the images using a combination of Neopiko-2’s, Copics, and Zig markers.  I also used my Diamond Stickles on the coins to give them some sparkle.

Comments»

1. Febe :) - September 30, 2009

Hi Danielle,
The corn image is really nice! Does the retailer have a web site? I liked what you did with it and would love to see what eles you may come up with using that corn!

Uncle Joe’s card is cute and I’m sure he’ll love it. And the fuss you’re making over him as well.

Your wild card envelopes are beautifully done. I like the theme of stars and it’s nice having a linning inside of the envelope, sure will make the reciever feel special! 🙂

Thanks for sharing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

