jump to navigation

Drake Turns 8… and some other things, too October 5, 2009

Posted by Danielle in Family Stuff.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback
Well, this past weekend was Drake’s 8th birthday. We had a nice little get together with family and some friends, and I think it was a success.  It was nice to have him on his actual birthday, too, which is a rare occurrence!  He was so excited when we picked him up Friday night… Bill took the boys to their Hapkido class in the morning, and I stayed at the house, cooking and baking.   I did two trays of lasagne, meatballs, banana bread from scratch, and his birthday cake.  The banana bread was mostly for my nephew, Jack, as Drake and Nash don’t have any interest in trying it.  Jack and Emma love it though!

The party itself consisted of our family, my parents, my brother and his two kids, my best friend Cindy’s family, and Debb.  Bill’s friend Tom was supposed to come, too, but he wasn’t feeling well, so he stayed at home.  The kids got back from class, and everybody started arriving…  So we did lunch pretty quickly.  After that, everybody was full so we opened gifts, and then Drake kept shouting, “It’s time for the cake!” so we had his birthday cake… It was chocolate chocolate chip with chocolate buttercream frosting.  And we had chocolate fudge ice cream and peanut butter cup ice cream.  Yum!

Having fun with the favors

Having fun with the favors

This is Nash, Morgan, Emma, Drake, and Grandma.  The kids had just gotten the favors where you blow into them and they unfurl.  No noise though!  They had fun using them.  Unfortunately, no pictures of him with his cake.  Bill switched the camera settings, and they all came out super blurry!  Oh well.  Maybe next year!

As for the other stuff, I’m still in my court reporting classes.  They’re going pretty well, although sometimes I feel like I’m losing a little of the speed.  I’m sure I’ll build it back up, but the class is slower again since it’s the beginning of the semester.  And it’s crowded!  Last semester we had six people in the class.  This semester (when everybody shows up), it’s a full house!  We have (I think) 12 people now.  Guess it’s so full we’re supposed to be switching rooms next Tuesday.

Back to family stuff… Bill and I talked to the kids about Halloween, too, since we have them that weekend.  Drake says he wants to be a ghost.  Nash wants to be a pumpkin.  I figure I’ll just hem up a white sheet for Drake.  I talked to Debb, and she’s got one she’ll donate to the ghost cause… LOL.  For Nash, I bought him an adult sized orange tshirt.  I found a cute jack-o-lantern iron on set at Joann’s, so we’ll probably stuff his shirt with newspapers or something to make it puff out.  If that doesn’t work, Bill says he wants to make some sort of frame with those cheap metal hangers you get from the cleaners.  I’m sure we’ll get some pictures before they head out trick-or-treating!

I just received two cards from the September A/B swap from Jean and Billie.  They are both gorgeous!

Sunflower Card

Sunflower Card

This is the card I received from Jean for the Copic Cabana September A/B swap.  I love it!  I can’t even begin to imagine how long it must have taken her to cut out the sunflowers!

Card from Billie for September A/B Swap

Card from Billie for September A/B Swap

This is the card I got from Billie for the A/B Swap.  She said she used the Diamond Glaze for the effect on the water.  I love this scene.  It looks so peaceful!

Now on to cards that I have made… Today I took the Copic Christmas Card class at the local Archiver’s.  They had advertised the class as an introduction to using Copic markers, but I think that was a little misleading.  In my opnion, it was more of an introduction to card making class.  The class itself ran for two hours, cost $15, and the supplies for the cards were included.  It was a fun couple hours, and next time I’ll know to expect that I won’t be learning new techniques for coloring if I take a class. 

Card #1

Card #1

This is the first card we made in the class.  I like the big, chunky glitter that we used for the snow on this.  It’s a 6×6 card.  The red twine actually wraps around the front of the card.  The snowman was mounted on the red paper, and that is raised up using Pop Dots.  We used the Copic colors B00, BG10, E33, R81, Y38,  YG03, and YG11 for this card.

Card #2

Card #2

For this card, we used a corner punch to round the edges of the embossed cardstock.  We also used a heat tool to get the raised look with the embossing powder for the ornament.  No Copics were used to make this card.

Card #3

Card #3

This is the third card we made in the class.  We stamped the images, then cut them out, and made sure the penguin’s feet sat on top of the strip of “snow” that we used the Fluff on.  The Fluff is like flocking, and it just adds another dimension to the card.  The tree is also raised, using Pop Dots.  For this card, we used Copic colors B00, E33, N-1, RV29, Y38, YG03, and YG11.

Card #4

Card #4

This is the last card we did.  The edges are inked for the Ho Ho Ho, which is a nice effect.  It’s something I see quite often in other people’s work, but I rarely remember to add that touch to my own!  I also forgot to color Santa’s skin with the E00 marker, so I’ll finish that up at home.  I didn’t notice that until I was going through the pictures… LOL.  We also used more Fluff for this card, too, in black, white, and tan.  The Copics used for this card are E00 (which I skipped in this picture), E33, N-1, and RV29.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

