jump to navigation

Carving Pumpkins and Cardmaking Catchup October 21, 2009

Posted by Danielle in Crafts, Family Stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback
This weekend, Bill and I had the boys.  Saturday, we worked on carving pumpkins and on costumes.  Bill is a great pumpkin carver, so I bought a pattern book for the kids to use.  Bill’s deal with them was that they had to clean the pumpkin’s guts out, and he’d do whatever carving they chose.  Nash ended up doing one with flaming eyes and mouth, and he did an excellent job punching out the pattern with the poking tool.  Drake had a tougher time deciding what image he wanted to use, and he finally decided on the bat.  Since some of those pieces were so much smaller, Bill helped him with poking the design into the pumpkin.
Nash is cleaning out his pumpkin, getting it ready for carving.

Nash is cleaning out his pumpkin, getting it ready for carving.

 

Here is Drake, getting the seeds out of his pumpkin.

Here is Drake, getting the seeds out of his pumpkin.

 

This is the finished product for Nash's pumpkin.

This is the finished product for Nash's pumpkin.

Bill is shining a flashlight into Drake's jack-o-lantern.

Bill is shining a flashlight into Drake's jack-o-lantern.

Not that I was ever really unhappy with a jack-o-lantern when I was a kid, but we had to settle for triangle eyes, triangle nose, and a mouth with one or two teeth in it, if we were lucky!  I’d have loved to have had a jack-o-lantern like these!

Well, I’ve been making a bunch of Halloween cards lately.  The one I posted last week for The Character Cafe challenge was actually one that was sent to the Orta family to wish them a happy first Halloween as a family.  Hopefully they like it!  If, by chance, you haven’t seen it and want to, it is my October 12th post.

I also just mailed out my Copic Cabana October swap cards recently to Febe and Barbara, along with some card-making treats that I hope they’ll enjoy.

Kitty on Broom!

Kitty on Broom!

This is the card I sent to Barbara from the Copic Cabana group for our A/B swap in the month of October.  The option for October’s swap was to include tricks or treats if you wished to.  Well, I didn’t include any tricks, but I did include some treats for her that I hope she’ll enjoy and get some use out of them.

For this card, I used the cat and mouse on a broomstick and the bat from the Penny Black Spooky stamp set.  I colored it in with a combination of Zig markers and Copic markers, and my Marvy Uchida Twinklette.  The paper is from my stash.  The decorative elements are the Spellbound Glitter Clears by Making Memories.

Mice dressed up as candy corn - how cute is that?

Mice dressed up as candy corn - how cute is that?

Here’s the card I sent to Febe for the Copic Cabana October A/B swap.  Febe also got some treats with her card that I know she’ll enjoy.  How do I know?  She told me so!  With hers, I guess you could say that the “trick” to her treats is that some of them are boy-related and intended for use on things she’ll be sending to her nephew, Matthew!

For this card, I used my Cuttlebug Spiderweb folder to emboss the background on some cardstock that I purchased from Archiver’s.  It’s pretty flimsy (in my opinion), so I can’t really use it to make the base of a card, but it does okay as an added element.  Honestly, I wasn’t sure I was going to use it or not because I thought it might make the card look too busy.  But after it was assembled, I liked the way the spiderweb looked.  The striped paper is by Making Memories, from the Sydney pack of the Fresh Anthology Collection.  The rest of the paper and the ribbon is from my stash.

The mice are colored with my Copics, E33 for their fur, and E02 for the rest.  I even got to put V01 to use on the treat bag.  The remaining colors are done with my Neopiko 2’s.  I also added some Diamond Stickles to the white part of the candy corn.  The “Happy Halloween” sentiment is from the Penny Black Spooky stamp set, and it was stamped using orange ColorBox ink.  The House Mouse stamp is called Sweet Finds, and for that image, I used the trusty Memento Tuxedo Black ink.

Eek!

Eek!

Hopefully I get this part right, but I believe this card got sent out to my friend Kevin.  I didn’t want to do anything too cutsie for him, as I’d probably get an earful from him if I did… But I was in a card making mood, so he got one, too.

The stamps for this one are both by Studio G.  The paper is again from my stash, and the embellishments are part of the Spellbound Glitter Clears set by Making Memories.  I used my Zig markers to color in the October 31, and I added a tiny little rhinestone to the middle of the flourish.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

