jump to navigation

Advent Calendar November 22, 2009

Posted by Danielle in Crafts, Family Stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

This will be a quick post… I just finished an Advent calendar for my nephew, Jack.  I think he’ll have fun with it.  I got the idea from Christmas with the Cricut blog.

Advent Calendar

For this calendar,  I used the Designer’s Calendar Cricut cartridge for cutting out the numbers.   I used a combination of cardstock.  The solid red and green are from the Recollections Cardstock from Michaels.  I used my Cuttlebug to emboss the red with the 5×7 folder called Tartan.  I embossed the green with the 5×7 folder called Large Snowflake.  The patterned cardstock is from the American Crafts Christmas patterned paper pack.  I started filling the calendar with little treats for Jack, and I’ll finish it this week… as he needs to get it soon!

I think for the last day, I’m going to put a bag of “Magic Reindeer Food” in the calendar, so Jack can sprinkle it out on the lawn…

The recipe I found for it varies, but generally is 1/4 C dry oatmeal, 1/8 C white sugar, 2 T each red and green colored sugar.  There are many variations of the following poem, too: Sprinkle this on your lawn at night. /  The moon will make it sparkle bright. / As Santa’s reindeer fly and roam, / This will guide them to your home.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

