jump to navigation

Mom’s Birthday Gift January 28, 2010

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
trackback

Just a quick post to show you the coasters I made for my mom’s birthday gift… I got the idea from chatter on The Frugal Scrapper Yahoo group, and so I used the handy Google to get more detailed instructions.  I found them here.

Hydrangea coasters

Basically, to make them, I used the tumbled stone coasters from Lowe’s.  I washed them all off to get any residue off the tiles.  Then, I stamped them with the Hydrangea stamp and black StazOn ink.  For those who don’t know it’s a great solvent ink for most surfaces.  I let it dry overnight.  The next day, I used chalks to color in the Hydrangeas and butterflies on the coasters, and I sprayed them with a Matte Acrylic sealant.  I let those sit overnight as well before putting felt on the back of them.  They’re rough tiles, and it wouldn’t be very good to have them scratching everything!

I also made a card for a very sweet lady in the Copic Crafters group, Debi.  She and her husband Michael have been having their share of issues lately, and Debi is always up-beat and positive.  She is a gem, and I sent her the card below to hopefully cheer up her day a little bit.

Tink "attitude" card

The inside of the card basically said to keep up the great attitude toward life… The actual sentiment is “Fly by attitude” and knowing Debi, I’m sure that she has.  I colored the image with a combination of my Neopiko 2’s and my Copics.  I forgot to write down the numbers of the Copics though, as I have been just using a piece of scrap paper to play with colors until I find a combination that I like.  Tinkerbell is made by EK Success.  I used some Recollections yellow cardstock and paper from my stash for the background.  I ran the yellow paper through my Cuttlebug using the Swiss Dots embossing folder – one of my favorites!  Hopefully it brightened up Debi’s day!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

