jump to navigation

Back in the Swing of Things August 4, 2011

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
trackback

Well, here’s the first challenge card I’ve made for a while… it is for the Try a Different Fold challenge.  For this challenge, the only requirement (other than not making the “usual” card) is to use one of Michelle’s images.

Front of card

For this card, I modified an idea from Lorri’s blog.  You can find her original tutorial here.  Now, I’ve been looking for a card style that will hold a 5-year-old’s interest, and I think this is it.  The card itself is almost like an envelope.  The front part lifts up, and on the inside is an owl that pops up and out of the card.

Inside of the card

I think this is a card that my nephew will enjoy.  Here are the details:

I used Core’dinations cardstock from the Elements collection, and embossed it with my Cuttlebug in the diamond pattern.  Then, I distressed the embossed image with sandpaper.  The stamp on the outside is from an unmarked clear stamp set that I own.  (If you know the name of it, please let me know and I will update my post.)  The inside owl is one I believe I downloaded on Michelle’s PCP or possibly CDAC group as a freebie called Arthur the Owl.  The outer sentiment is handwritten by me, and I used cardstock from my stash for the decorations and the frames around the image.  I used a Martha Stewart border punch called Cornice for the card flap.  I drew the baseball cap for the owl’s head since I needed something to make the center of his head close to the tips of his ears.  The images are colored with a combination of Copic and Neopiko 2 markers.  Oh, I also got to use two of my Tim Holtz Distress Inks for the first time.  The sentiment on the outside has Old Paper and Peeled Paint on it.  I thought the bright white cardstock was a little too much of a contrast.

Comments»

1. Irene (Ivy Swan Cards) - August 4, 2011

Fabulous pop-up card, Danielle! I love the embossing and distressing. Thank you for joining this week’s “Try a New Fold” challenge at Michelle Perkett Studio. Have a great evening!

2. Karen Seifert - August 6, 2011

This is so stinkin’ cute! Thanks for joining the Michelle Perkett Studio challenge this week.

3. Mari Harpham - August 7, 2011

Very cute. I also think that a your boy will love this card. So fun,

Thanks for swimming with the mermaids at Michelle Perkett Studio.

Mair


Leave a Reply

