jump to navigation

Work from the Inspiration Showcase Class September 20, 2011

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Just a quick post to say that I am really enjoying the Inspiration Showcase class with Jennifer McGuire.  I haven’t gotten to even half of the techniques that we’ve learned about in class, although I’ve already written about one in a previous post.  You can find it here.  Here are some of the other things I’ve done using techniques from the class though:

Butterflies colored with Distress Ink

Here are the butterflies we did… It’s really the first time I’ve used the blending tool with the Distress Inks.  I chose to use Wild Honey and Worn Lipstick.  I had to do some searching about the blender because the velcro kept coming off every time I tried to switch out the blending pad — highly annoying!  I wound up using a staple gun and stapling down the velcro to the block of the blending tool, and now  it works like a dream.  I absolutely love how these butterflies turned out, and  I can see myself using this technique quite often.

Acrylic paint resist using a very basic stamp

This was actually the first technique I tried out from the class… and it has (so far) been my least favorite technique.  When I tried it the first time, I used a much more detailed stamp like the one Jennifer uses in class.  It was an awful mess, and I still have bits of white paint in the crevices of my stamp!  So I switched to the simplest stamp I could find in my collection, and I finally got the resist technique to work.  I used white acrylic paint and Worn Lipstick Distress Ink.  This is a technique that goes into the Glad I Tried category… but I don’t see myself using it again.

Fingerpainting with Distress Inks

This is a cool technique that I can see using for backgrounds.  For this, I used Distress Inks (Faded Jeans, Broken China, Weathered Wood, and Stormy Sky), spritzed with mist made of Perfect Pearls and water, and then used my fingers to “paint” onto cardstock.  The colors are a bit softer looking than the photo shows.

Poppy "painted" with Distress Inks

I had fun doing this as well… I used a poppy image from Beccy’s Place — love her digitals!  Again, this is “painting” with Distress Inks… I used the inks spritzed with pearlized water, and then a paintbrush to actually add the color to the image.  I will eventually try this again and use just plain water.  The shimmer is pretty, but I want to see what it would look like without it, too.  For this image, I used Peeled Paint, Worn Lipstick, Mustard Seed, Faded Jeans, Broken China, Stormy Sky, and Weathered Wood Distress Inks.

Using Distressed Inks and watercoloring paper

This is another neat technique using Distress Inks directly on a stamp, and putting it onto watercolor paper instead of regular cardstock.  You get a slightly different result… this is another technique that I will probably try again with regular water instead of the shimmery stuff… just to see which effect I like better… and I still have bits of the pearlized water on the stamp, which again, I’m not totally crazy about.

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - September 20, 2011

Wow! These are all fantastic!! : )

2. darla - September 25, 2011

Good to see one of us that took the class using the techniques. I really like what you have done

Danielle - September 26, 2011

LOL… Thank you, Darla!


Leave a Reply

