jump to navigation

I Reserve the Right to Brag…. September 22, 2011

Posted by Danielle in Family Stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

…about my wonderful husband, Bill.  He is extremely driven to succeed and he has plenty of ambitious plans for the future.  That is one of the reasons that he is currently enrolled in a black and white art class this semester (as well as a Maya class).  Now I have known Bill for years, and we have been married now for almost three years.  For this entire period of time, all I’ve ever heard from him is how artistically untalented he is.  Well, I’m about to throw that theory down the drain.  From the basic line art that he drew in class on Day One, to the more recent charcoal drawings, all I’ve seen out of this man is talent.  He just “gets” perspective, shading, depth… all those tough concepts that it takes some people a long time to learn.  They come naturally to Bill, as you will see.

John Adams in charcoal

This is one of the first charcoal drawings that Bill did for class.  I really like how it turned out!

Pope in 1503, charcoal

Okay, so this is not my favorite drawing, but I’m still impressed… I know Bill didn’t care for it either, but that’s also part of the learning process — learning how to do things that you don’t necessarily enjoy, and learning how to do them well.

Woman, charcoal

I believe this is one of the first drawings Bill did with charcoal as well.  I know it’s one of our favorites of the drawings that he’s done so far.

Plant, charcoal

This is the latest drawing Bill has done, completed in his most recent class on Tuesday night.  He’s not a huge fan of it, but I really like how the plant turned out.  I think he got lots of details right, and once again, I’m impressed!  I know charcoal is probably one of his least favorite mediums, too… since it is dusty, dirty work… but nevertheless, the talent sure does shine through!

Comments»

1. Melanie - September 22, 2011

You have every reason to brag, his drawings are fabulous. They really are amazing and I cannot wait to see more.


Leave a Reply

