jump to navigation

Index Card Box January 15, 2012

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Well, this challenge was just that — quite the challenge!  It was way outside the box for me, no pun intended… And this time around, we have Ippity by Rona offering a $15 gift certificate to one lucky winner, so get out your thinking caps and get creative!

This challenge for Through the Craftroom Door was a tough one for me… anything but a card!  So I went with something totally out of my norm, and I created a box for organizing stuff — whatever kind of stuff you’d like that would fit on an index card.  I was thinking I’d use it for organizing stuff like birthdays, anniversaries, etc.  I cut the template for the box using an SVG file from Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff, which I purchased at My Grafico.  I created the alphabet embellishments using Spellbinders dies combined with Just Rite monogram stamps.  The front flap of the box and the little bird (silver) are embossed cardstock.  I used silver embossing powder and heat embossed each item 3-4 times, until they got to a thickness and sheen that I liked.  The flourish is another Spellbinders die that I spritzed with Sea Glass Glimmer Mist, and the little bird is from My Favorite Things, Contempo Cage.  I created the rosette using dark blue cardstock (Recollections) and my Martha Stewart scoreboard.  The box itself is cut from American Crafts cardstock, and the lid is embellished with DCWV cardstock from the La Creme stack.

This project will be entered into the following challenges:

Comments»

1. poshcatcrafts - January 15, 2012

Thank you for joining us at Secret Crafter Saturday Challenge with your gorgeous creation!
Hugs
Tamara

2. Colleen Holmes - January 15, 2012

I love the index box and have a perfect place to put one! So very pretty and love the bird on the front panel! Gorgeous!

3. Sue Gerth - January 15, 2012

Your index box is lovely. The rosette and bird really set it off. You did a great job on it, and it is such a useful project.

4. Bridget - January 16, 2012

Oh wow this is one fabulous interpretation of this weeks theme, fabulous image and colour combo too,

Thank You so much for joining us at Secret Crafter Saturday Challenge: 168 Anything Goes With Blue I hope you join us again next week,

Good Luck with the challenge

Have a lovely day,
Hugs Bridget :0) x.
SCSC DT

5. Helen Dooley - January 16, 2012

This is so cool. Love this thanks for sharing with us this week at For Fun.

6. Kate - January 16, 2012

oh a great take on this weeks theme at the Secret Crafter Saturday challenge with this lovely creation, thank you for joining us this week.
Hugs Kate xx
PS I have candy if you are interested 🙂


Leave a Reply

