jump to navigation

Envelope Gift Bags January 17, 2012

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Here’s another out-of-the-box item for me, but it will be useful as well.  I am making the bags to hold some Valentine’s Day treats for the ladies I scrapbook with.

All in all, I think this turned out pretty well.  I got the idea for using an envelope to make a small gift bag here. (The article says they’re recycled envelopes, but they all look brand new to me.)  In my case, I used envelopes from an old stationery set that I only had three sheets of writing paper left (but about ten envelopes).  I even used my very much ignored craft scissors with a fancy edge to cut the top.  I used a heart stamp and Spun Sugar Distress Ink to decorate the outside of the envelope.  The bow is created using a bow maker that my wonderful husband made for me last year out of some scrap wood and a dowel that was cut down to size.  The ribbon started to fray almost immediately and I had to tuck the unsightly ends under the image, so I’m definitely going to take a look at Imaginisce’s latest gadget that debuted at CHA that is supposed to seal the ends of the ribbon.  I used an adorable A Day for Daisies image called Petal Pixie and I colored her with a combination of Bic Mark Its and Copic markers.  Then, I used my Perfect Layers to mat her with a 1/16″ border.  I am totally in love with this tool.

This card will be entered into the following challenges:

Comments»

1. Wenche - January 18, 2012

Beautiful! Love the image. Thanks for joining us at Do You Stack Up.

-Wenche

2. Maey Jo - January 18, 2012

Cool idea and you rocked the cute image! Thanks for joining us at DYSU.

3. Keilly - January 18, 2012

What a lovely idea. Beautiful image and so beautifully coloured. Thanks for sharing with us at DYSU this week!

4. Another Gift Bag « Danielle's Corner - January 20, 2012

[…] difference between this gift bag and the one in my previous post here is that this one was created using scrapbooking paper instead of an envelope.  To create the gift […]


Leave a Reply

