jump to navigation

First Try at Heat Transfer Vinyl April 9, 2012

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Okay, here’s a project that’s totally outside of anything I’ve ever done before… it’s using heat transfer vinyl to make myself a tshirt.

As some of you know, I recently got a Silhouette Cameo but I haven’t been able to play with it much up until recently.  The first thing I must say is that I love it!  It cuts incredibly well, especially with detailed cuts.  Another bonus with the Cameo is that it is not a cartridge-based system.  I love being able to hook the machine up to the computer and use it with files I create, files I already own, or files I purchase from the Silhouette store or other places that sell cutting files.  Currently, although I own SCAL, I have not used it with the Cameo yet… I’ve just been using the software that comes with the machine, Silhouette Studio.

In any event, for this tshirt, I used a file purchased from the Sil store.  I thought it was just too cute for words, and I’ve seen many varieties of the shirt done.  Personally, I didn’t have too many choices of HTV to choose from; I had navy metallic, gold, and silver.  I cut the base text and the peeps in gold.  But I thought it needed a little something else so I used the Studio program to trace around the words to create a border and then cut that out in silver.  Upon showing my hubby the shirt, I almost fell over in shock when he said it “needed” sparkly eyes — this coming from the man who doesn’t like rhinestones!  So I also added heat set Swarovski crystals to the shirt for eyes.

I’m also entering my shirt into Oozak’s Anything Goes challenge… this is definitely not a card!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

