jump to navigation

Perfect Weather for Coneflowers… July 19, 2013

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Well, we have been in a heat wave here in the Great Lakes state.  I, for one, am ready for this heat to break and for some cooler weather to roll on in!  However, coneflowers love this kind of weather.  They thrive in it as a matter of fact.  Most often, they come in red, pink, purple, or white and they are drought-tolerant.  They are a casual flower, and one of  my (many) favorites!  I think they are bright and cheery.

This week for McMahon 5 Designs Flashback Friday, I am using a gorgeous coneflower image.

This image comes with some digital sentiments as well, and here is the card I created using the coneflower image and one of the sentiments.

Coneflower Card

Coneflower Card

Close-up of the card to show sparkle added using a clear Atyou Spica pen

Close-up of the card to show sparkle added using a clear Atyou Spica pen

 

For this card, I printed the image on Neenah Classic Crest Solar White 80# cardstock, and I matted it with Neenah Classic Linen Epic Black 80# cardstock.  This is the first time I’ve used Copics on the Solar White cardstock, and I must say it is very easy to use with Copic markers.  They blend quite easily on this cardstock!  And what is there to say other than the Epic Black cardstock is just a joy to work with.  It cuts like butter and is a true black.  I rest of the paper I used is from my stash – the card base is purple Recollections cardstock, and the pink paper is from ATD’s Serendipity paper pad.  I used the Card Creator A2 Matting Basics Sets A & B to cut out the image, its mat, and the sentiment.  Then, I used my Perfect Layers to cut the mat around the sentiment since there was not a die cut that would make a narrow enough band around the sentiment.  The gems are heat-set i-Rock gems in three different sizes.  The image is colored with the following Copic markers:  E19, E57, G14, G24, RV02, RV06, RV55, Y18, and YR07.  After coloring the image, I added some clear sparkle with my Atyou Spica pen.

Hope you are staying safe if you are in an area experiencing the heatwave!  Please stop by to see the rest of the Design Team’s creations on the blog if you have a chance.

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - July 19, 2013

I love this! The flower is colored beautifully!

2. Judy Garrelts - July 19, 2013

Ooooooo, I’m loving the pink!!!!!!!!
Love the card!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

3. susandube812 - July 19, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous! Love your coloring and the sparkle is fabulous! A girl after my own heart! It’s just stunning!

Hugs,

Susan


Leave a Reply

