jump to navigation

If I Had a Single Flower… August 16, 2013

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This week for McMahon Five Designs‘ Flashback Friday, I chose to work with a gorgeous digital image called “If I Had a Flower.”  I think the image and the sentiment are just beautiful.  In case you can’t read the sentiment it is, “If I had a single flower for every time I think about you, I could walk forever in my garden.”  The quote is attributed to Claudia Ghandi.  I chose this particular image because I really love the sentiment and because geraniums always remind me of my grandmother on my mother’s side.  She always had huge pots of them growing outside, all different colors, but I remember the red ones best.

 

My card today is in memory of my grandmother… I have lots of wonderful memories of her and even though she’s been gone for many years, I still think of her often.

Geranium Card

Geranium Card

For this card, I colored the image with the following Copic markers:  B0000, B000, E13, E19, G07, R35, and R46.  Since the digital image itself had a lot of the shading already in place, I really did just a simple color wash to add to the detailed image.  The image itself is printed out on Curious Metallics Cryogen Iridescent White 89# cardstock and then torn to give it some added interest, which is then matted onto Neenah Classic Linen Epic Black 80# Cover.  The twine is white crochet thread that I colored with a Copic marker (R46) to match the geraniums.  I wrapped it around then black card base, and then tied a bow around it.

Thanks for stopping by today, and if you get a chance please check out the rest of the Design Team’s projects here!

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - August 16, 2013

Wow!!! I love this!!!

2. Judy Garrelts - August 16, 2013

What a fantastic sentiment! Your coloring is beautiful! The whole card is wonderful. I love it!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

3. Fran Misotti Baker - August 17, 2013

I love your card and the sentiment is awesome!

4. Debbie - August 19, 2013

This is gorgeous!! Beautiful coloring and I like the torn edges!!


Leave a Reply

