jump to navigation

Buzzing Into the New Year January 11, 2014

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

…with tons of snow and record low temperatures!  Yikes!  Hopefully everyone hit by the extreme cold and snow have been able to stay safe and warm!  We had school canceled on Monday and Tuesday, so it gave me extra time to make Valentine’s Day cards for the first graders I work with.

Valentine for Paper TemptressFor this Valentine, I used Jupiter Red Mica/Metallic for the card base.  It really sparkles in the light!  I cut out and embossed Cryogen White cardstock using my Spellbinders Heart Squares die.  The bee stamp and sentiment are from Heidi Grace’s Cheerful Bee clear stamp set.  The bee and sentiment are stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black ink and colored using a Yellow Blaze Sharpie.

Valentine Envelope for Paper Temptress

A glutton for punishment?  Perhaps… but again, with the time on my hands I’d rather be crafting than cleaning, right??  And this is how the custom envelopes came to be… This particular envelope uses paper from the DCWV Stack 8.  I cut the paper down to 5.5″x5.5″ and then used We R Memory Keepers’ Envelope Punch Board to create small enough envelopes for my little Valentine’s Day cards, which are 2.2″x3.2″.

These Valentines are quite small so I had to make a decision whether to put them in an envelope at all or just fold them over and close them with a sticker.  The envelopes won out; I am under no illusion that they won’t wind up in the trash, but the cards and envelopes were also quick to make and I hope that the kids get a little bit of enjoyment out of them!

I will be entering the following challenges:

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - January 11, 2014

This is so cute Danielle and I love the envelope!!

2. Suzy B - January 12, 2014

This is sooo cute, Thank you for joining us over at Suzy Bee’s Bloomin Challenge, we would love it if you joined us again next week,
Hugs
Suzy B DT
XX

3. Hazel - January 12, 2014

Thanks for sharing your lovely card for Suzy Bee’s Bloomin’ challenge 11: cute and sweet – hope to see you again soon, Hazel, DT x

4. Monica - January 12, 2014

Ahh..Very cute. Thanks for sharing over at Suzy Bee’s Bloomin Challenge. Monica, DT


Leave a Reply

