jump to navigation

Christmas Card March 30, 2014

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Well, we’re finally (I hope!) done with the snow for this season… But Digitstamps4Joy is still doing their progressive Christmas challenge!

DS4J March Christmas CardThis card was a harder one for me to create since I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with the word collage.  Obviously, I figured how to create a card with it, and I really like the result.  The card base is red Recollections cardstock, embossed with a chevron patterned Sizzix embossing folder.  I printed out the digital image onto Cryogen cardstock.  Then, I used an ink blending tool and covered it with Shabby Shutters Distress Ink.  After getting a good coverage, I splattered it with water.  It’s very difficult to see in the photo, but you can see some of the lighter areas in the actual card.  I let it dry, and then stamped it using Versamark ink and a Hampton Art background stamp – it might be called Double Vision.  Then, I used clear embossing powder on it before adding a layer of Peeled Paint Distress Ink on top.  The embossed areas resisted the ink.  I finished it with some Black Soot Distress Ink on the edges before matting it with some green textured American Crafts cardstock.

 

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - March 30, 2014

I like this! I like how the chevron paper looks around the edges. Lucky you to be done with snow, we have more coming tomorrow. : (

2. Judy Garrelts - March 30, 2014

Wow, all of the steps to create this card paid off ’cause it really is quite pretty! Excellent!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

3. Desire Fourie - March 30, 2014

This is just gorgeous Danielle. Love how you printed the image on design paper. Thank you for taking the time to use this month’s free Christmas image. You have automatically qualified to receive next month’s Christmas image for free, which will be emailed to you at the beginning of April.
Hugs
Desíre
{Digistamps4Joy Christmas Challenge Co-ordinator}
{Doing Life – my personal blog}

Danielle - March 30, 2014

Thanks, Desire… but it wasn’t printed out onto designer paper. It was printed out onto Cryogen cardstock, and I created the background using layers of ink, water, and clear embossing powder.


Leave a Reply

