jump to navigation

A Blog Hop with a Difference August 18, 2014

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Hi, I was asked to be part of this blog hop by Karen Stark.  The purpose is for us to get to know each other a little bit better.  I met Karen in a Yahoo Cricut group back in 2008 or 2009.  We got to talking and discovered that we have quite a few of the same interests as well as a similar philosophy on life.  Currently, we co-own a small Yahoo group that we share with a small group of ladies who feel just as passionate about their hobbies and enjoy a spot to talk about family, friends, interests, and life in general.

What am I working on?

20140811_114638_resized

Generally, I am working on creating cards.  This particular card is one I created using the Hot Stuff stamp set by My Favorite Things.  I used some older techniques including masking.  This is more of a typical card for me as far as the style since I usually keep things pretty Clean and Simple (CAS).  I do enjoy learning new things though, so I have been known to enroll in online classes and I’m currently enrolled in the Stretch Your Stamps 2 class, which has been a lot of fun.  I do the occasional scrapbook and 3D project, but I tend to lean toward smaller things where I get the gratification of a completed project sooner.  I have been branching out into new mediums, however, including using modeling paste, stencils, and Gelatos.  But my go-to items for cardmaking are my beloved Copic markers and colored pencils, both normal and watercolor.  That inner child in me just loves to color!  I enjoy sharing my work, and I have been on some Design Teams, which are a great way to meet fellow-crafters.  Currently, I am enjoying my time on The Paper Temptress Design Team.

How does my creative process work?

Great question!  And when I figure it out, I’ll let you know!  Okay, well, really… there’s not any rhyme or reason to my creative process.  Although I do know that I will get burned out in one area and need to recharge by doing something else.  I get inspiration from the things around me, experiences, nature, and definitely from being around kids at work.  If I get too crazed with papercrafting, I will switch my creative outlet to something else like knitting, sewing, or quilting.

How does my work differ from others?

Another good question… and another one that bears some thought.  I guess I would have to say my work differs from others because I’m different and I put my heart into all of my creations – which is why it makes it hard to give some of them away!  And while I know I’m not an artist by trade, I like to think my little works of (he)art are made to be shared.  As my nephew told me in November while opening his birthday gift, “Aunt Danielle, I don’t think I have ever gotten a store bought card from you in my life!”  He’s 8 and adorable.

Comments»

1. Judy Garrelts - August 18, 2014

And its your passion that makes your cards so beautiful! This card is just so cute with all the coffee cups and then the center image is just perfect! Love it!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

2. Karen Stark - August 18, 2014

Love your card and I also loved reading about you!!

3. Fran - August 18, 2014

Love this card and loved reading all about Aunt Danielle.


Leave a Reply

