jump to navigation

Baby, it’s cold outside! November 18, 2014

Posted by Danielle in Crafts, Family Stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

I can’t believe the cold temperatures we had today… we actually got down to a low of 11 degrees today, which tied the previous record low of 11 degrees, set in 1880.  With the windchill taken into account, we were well below zero!  Brrr!!!  However, on the bright side, we didn’t get 12″ of snow like they did out in Grand Rapids!

So in light of our freezing temps, I decided to share a Hello Kitty quilt that I made for my sister in September as a wedding gift.  She is a huge HK fan, and she loves the quilt.

20140910_182235

The quilt is from a kit so I basically followed the directions to piece it together.  This was also my first attempt at free motion quilting.  I know it isn’t perfect, but I’m pretty happy with how it came out.  I used a clear thread for the top because of all the white space.  I didn’t really want to use pink and have it all over Hello Kitty’s face and body… and I didn’t want to use white thread for the top and have that showing through on all the red and pink in the background of the quilt.  I think I may try more free motion quilting on my next project – it was fun to do! – but skip that clear thread because it was kind of a pain to work with.

20141116_203530_resizedThe ornaments were my latest project.  My parents are hosting a Christmas party for some friends.  This year the theme is Italy.  My mom found an ornament with an Italian blessing on one side and Buon Natale on the other side.  I created this version for her to give out as favors.  The ornaments are the disc ornaments, and I added vinyl and glitter to them.  I attempted to cut the blessing in vinyl but it was too much for such a small surface area.  The ornaments themselves came out quite pretty, and I will still be creating a tag to go along with the ornaments that will also include a print-out of the blessing.

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - November 19, 2014

Both are gorgeous!!! You did an amazing job on both projects!!!

2. Judy Garrelts - November 19, 2014

You are such a crafter-bee!!!!!!!! Love them both!!!!!!!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy


Leave a Reply

