jump to navigation

Spectrum Noir Update April 18, 2015

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags:
trackback

I just wanted to update my original Spectrum Noir post since I just received some new information from Crafter’s Companion as well as the replacement markers for the ones that I was missing or were broken.

20150418_001643_resized

I updated my swatch chart to show the IG6, IG8, IG10 blending combination.  They blend together quite well, but I’m not sure how often I will use that particular combination because it is so dark.

The new information I received from CC’s Customer Service is that no, I should not attempt to glue the marker barrel on my own!  It is great to know that they will stand behind any of their markers that happen to be defective, at least at this time!  I requested two additional markers that are consistently coming apart at the barrel of the marker, so hopefully both will be replaced.  (At the time I originally wrote to CC, only one marker was coming apart at the barrel, but by the time I got the response, another one started to do the same thing.)  I am afraid of damaging the nibs or part of the marker that holds the ink if I keep jamming them back together.

Comments»

1. Judy Garrelts - April 18, 2015

Very good for great customer service!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

2. Gail Burke - November 11, 2017

Thank you so much for your update on the SN markers and them coming apart at the barrel. I am so upset and thought that maybe I pulled too hard on my markers. I have had 2 markers come apart and was wondering also about gluing the barrels. What was the reason they gave for telling you not to glue them – it seems like a great fix to me? Thanks for your post. Hopefully you will get this and have an answer – I realize your post is 2 1/2 yrs old.

Danielle - December 9, 2017

Gail, I’m glad you found my post helpful. Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you. Unfortunately, I have not found a solution to the issue with the Spectrum Noir markers coming apart at the barrel. I’m pretty disappointed since I had hoped to be able to use them with my nieces. I have had many more than two markers coming apart at the barrels… and while Crafter’s Companion has sent me probably half a dozen replacements, it doesn’t solve the problem. I have had the replacements come apart as well as other markers in the set. I never got a good reason about not using glue, but I’m guessing it’s because most glues that are along the lines of super glue will eat at plastics… and I did try a few different kinds of white glue, and they never held for long.


Leave a Reply

