jump to navigation

Homemade Journals July 28, 2015

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I suppose I’m on a journal kick, but I saw this on Lindsay Weirich’s blog here.  I fell in love with the idea of a journal, and I wanted to make some for my nephew and nieces.  However, I didn’t think that they would appreciate having a journal with Gelli prints on the pages.  I’ve made them journals before using composition books as a base, but Jack always complained that the pages had lines on them!  The girls never seemed to care and either wrote or drew to their heart’s content.  These seemed to be a great way to recycle some boxes, use up some washi tape, and use up some unwanted construction paper all at once.

Jack's Journal, front

Jack’s Journal, front

Jack's Journal, back

Jack’s Journal, back

Here is Jack’s journal.  For the pages, I had a package of construction paper (no clue where it came from) that I wanted to use up, and I thought this project would work for it.  I pretty much followed the directions in Lindsay’s tutorial, but there were many more pages of the construction paper, so they were more difficult to line up than using cardstock.  I used a sheet of 12×12 cardstock from the DCWV The Generation Tech stack to cover up the box cover.

Emma's Journal, front

Emma’s Journal, front

Emma's Journal, back

Emma’s Journal, back

Here is Emma’s journal.  Another thing I did change for the kids’ journals is that to attach the pages, I used some packing tape (cut in half so it wasn’t too wide) instead of washi tape.  I chose to use the packing tape because of the huge increase in the number of pages for each journal.  I don’t have tons of washi tape, and I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to complete all three of them with it.  I did use the washi tape along the edges and on the inside of the front and back covers. Emma’s journal cover is made using the DCWV High School Girls Rock 12×12 piece of cardstock.  Really, this paper is not anything I ever would have picked out on my own; it came in a Mystery Box I bought years ago.  There were more “high school” type images on it like lipstick and a SWAK type lip mark.  I was able to use the part of the paper that was more generic and “girly” since Emma is only 7.  I figure she can even color the outside of it if she wants to do so.

Julia's Journal

Julia’s Journal

For Julia’s journal, the front and back cover looks the same so I only took one photo.  I had to be careful with this paper to make sure that the seahorses were right-side-up, and I did take extra care because of the vertical lines of sea creatures to make sure that the vertical edges of the cover lined up well.  This is one of my favorite 12×12 papers.  I bought a pack of 12×12 papers from Big Lots years ago and got it for $2.  This is Shimmer Glitter Paper from Heidi Grace Designs Beyond the Sea MIni Decor Stripe.  Too bad the Big Lots I used to go to is gone because I got some really great deals there.

The pages, with cover closed

The pages, with cover closed

There is space to really embellish the pages, or to tape/glue mementos to the pages.  I’m not sure what the kids will use the journals for – but hopefully they will enjoy them.

Many thanks to Lindsay for the inspiration… and for the suggestion to use Yes! Paste for this project.  It is an awesome thing… I had no buckling of any of my paper that I adhered to the covers.

Comments»

1. Judy Garrelts - July 28, 2015

What a fantastic gift! They can use them to put all of their summer memories in :))))))))))
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

2. Karen Stark - July 28, 2015

These are fantastic!!! What a great ides!

3. Fran Baker - July 29, 2015

Another awesome project. They can draw and write in them. What a special Aunt you are to them. I know they love you to pieces.


Leave a Reply

