jump to navigation

Mini Album Insert August 10, 2015

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Well, this is something a little bit off the beaten path for me.  I have been working on a recycled mini album, and while I was looking for ideas to add to some of the pages, a Be Inspired Challenge email from Unity Stamps appeared in my inbox and I decided to give their scrapbook layout a try.

It is miniaturized somewhat since this is not a full 12×12 sized layout, but I think it works out!

20150810_143626_resized

The album itself is a somewhat distressed album, so that’s what I tried to do for the inserts as well.  The base layer is a manila file folder that I cut down to approximately 4×6.”  The edges are distressed using Vintage Photo distress ink, and I sprayed it with a homemade watercolor spray ink.  I got the idea to create the spray ink from Lindsay Weirich’s post here.  However, instead of using liquid watercolor, I used some semi-moist Prang watercolors from the pan.  They were difficult to get out of the pan but the brown dissolved well into the water, and I added some of the mica eyeshadow from the Dollar Tree to get the shimmer.

Over the background, I stamped the tattered chicken wire stamp with Vintage Photo distress ink, and the Itty Bitty within beauty stamp in Jet Black Archival Ink.  The butterfly is colored using the Ripe Persimmon distress marker.   For the photo mats, I used a Die-Versions mini doily die called Lucky Scallop.  It is cut from brown cardstock from my stash.

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - August 10, 2015

I love this! I love the chicken wire stamp! I have a Magnolia one that I just used yesterday. : )

2. thefrugalcrafter - August 10, 2015

thanks for the link, great page!

Danielle - August 12, 2015

Thanks for stopping by and taking a peek! Love your blog.

3. Judy Garrelts - August 10, 2015

Love it!!!!!!! Love the stamps and the colors you chose!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

4. Fran Baker - August 20, 2015

Oh my this one fell through the cracks. I am so glad I found it among all my emails. I absolutely love it! The colors are awesome. I like the idea of using doilies for a softer touch. Hugs,bFran

5. Upcycled Mini Album | Danielle's Corner - August 25, 2015

[…] This is the reverse of the envelope, stamped with another flower stamp from the Heidi Grace stamp set.  For more details on the insert, you can see my post Mini Album Insert. […]


Leave a Reply

