jump to navigation

Handmade Embellishments April 15, 2016

Posted by Danielle in Crafts.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Lately, I’ve been wanting to stretch my wings a little bit.  I’ve been working on some of the Mixed Media Morsels (here‘s a link to the first video), making mini albums, and using different mediums.  Well, another thing I have never really done is to try creating making my own embellishments.  Stacy (Pink Poodle Crafts) has an excellent blog post here as well as a YouTube channel that is just jam packed with creative ideas.

Anyhow, here is what I created using mostly scraps from my stash.

I absolutely love how these came out – and I thank Stacy for information on the technique.  I think these embellishments are going to be fantastic to use on cards or mixed media projects, and I shopped my stash to create them.  I also used some punches that I haven’t gotten out in quite a while – another bonus!  I did use a square punch to cut the tails because they generally came out much more even than when I tried to use a pair of scissors to cut them, and I also used a paper trimmer to make my strips.  I tried using scissors and (again) I found that the uneven edges just bothered me too much.

Comments»

1. Karen Stark - April 16, 2016

Awesome embellishments! What a great idea for using scraps and digging out our forgotten punches!!

2. Judy Garrelts - April 16, 2016

Fantastic!!!! I want to check out Stacy’s blog. Your embellishments turned out wonderful!
Thanks for sharing,
Judy

3. Fran - April 17, 2016

Your embellishments are so pretty. What a great way to use scraps.
Love the idea a lot.
Hugs, Fran


Leave a Reply

